Fostering is life-changing.

I recently completed a project for my Interpersonal Communication class regarding volunteer work. Naturally, I chose to write about my efforts with animal rescue and a fundraiser/food drive I had initiated for The Humane Society of the South Platte Valley. The deadline for my project happened to be in November, the same month as my ‘one year anniversary’ fostering for various rescues in Colorado. It was a great time to go back and look at the lives I was able to change in just one year.

Image

The pups above were ones that personally came through my house in the past year. It is a pretty amazing feeling looking back at the ones I was able to save by opening up my house for one (or sometimes two!) in need dogs.

For anyone who has never fostered and has the means, I certainly recommend giving it a try. Even if you don’t fall in to the fostering cycle, the one animal you are able to help will be so thankful – and at least you can say you gave it a shot.

If you are unable to foster, there are so many other ways you can still help. Rescues are always in need of a hand with coordinating events, planning fundraisers, transporting dogs, and volunteering at adoption events. You could even find a spot doing administrative work, if that is more your thing. Local shelters desperately need volunteers to help socialize, walk, and clean up after the dogs in their care. And, of course, monetary donations and supplies really help out these organizations.

Fostering saves lives. As much as I love it, the choice to foster is not one to be taken lightly. Once you commit to an animal, you have made a promise to take care of her until she gets adopted. Even if she is really really scared, or isn’t quite potty trained, or if she destroys something in your house. Rescues and shelters depend on a commitment in order to save more lives, and they really need your help.

Trust me, it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

