Happy trails, Autumn!

I don’t get to foster dogs quite as often as I’d like to. Once upon a time I worked a 9-5 type job and spent a lot of time at home – nowadays, however, I am out of the house for work from about 7:00 AM to 6:30 PM, a schedule not quite suited for four dogs in an apartment. Occasionally, though, I find a picture of a sweetheart in need of a foster home and have to say yes… which was the case earlier this week.

Oh come on, how could I resist?
Oh come on, how could I resist?

At the same time I saw ‘Axle’ on facebook in need of a foster home, a friend of my sister reached out to me regarding her own sister who just lost her five year old English Bulldog to cancer and was searching for a puppy. I had a feeling the brindle little puppy would be a hit and agreed to foster her. A few days later, I went to pick up the little bundle of joy and was certain that this puppy was going to be a perfect match. She was friendly, sweet, and loved giving kisses.

This is Colorado? Cool!
This is Colorado? Cool!

Axle came over with her littermates. They were born in Mississippi and were then fostered in Kansas until they were old enough to make the journey to Colorado. Their mama, a beautiful blue pitbull, is staying behind in Kansas undergoing heartworm treatment. We’re not leaving her behind though, and she will be coming over once treatment is done in search of her forever family.

Such a beautiful girl.
Such a beautiful girl.

It was a rough few nights having a baby puppy in the house – I slept on the couch so my boyfriend could sleep and was up with the little one every two to three hours for potty breaks. Otherwise, she was the ideal house guest; she had no accidents in the house, loved to cuddle, and had so much fun romping with my other big dogs. Oh, and she got to experience how awesome having her own toy is. Rescue is so great.

Zomg! Freedom comes with my own Nylabone!
Zomg! Freedom comes with my own Nylabone!

Everybody got pretty attached even though we only had her for a few days. Fostering puppies is pretty rewarding in that way… they usually find a home within a matter of days or weeks, and you get the joy of knowing you were able to give them a great start in socializing, training, and life in general.

Versailles thought Axle was pretty neat.
Versailles thought Axle was pretty neat.

Of course, once Megan met Axle she fell in love instantly. She had no hesitation in adopting and so far it seems to be going great. Axle, now adorably named Autumn, has a great life ahead of her with a wonderful new forever-mommy and I am SO SO happy for her!

Yep, looks like she'll be just fine!
Yep, looks like she’ll be just fine!
Seriously, this state rocks.
Seriously, this state rocks.

2 thoughts on “Happy trails, Autumn!

  1. So glad that you fostered Autumn – she looks so sweet and it would be hard to resist her. Knowing that you had someone in mind as a potential forever mama for her was insightful on your part, especially as it all worked out for everyone concerned.
    Such a lovely story and a happy ending.

    Like

Leave a Reply

